

For Release Contact

Jan. 9, 2018

Speaker Coughlin Announces New Assembly Committee Chairs & Membership for 218th Legislative Session

(TRENTON) – Assembly Speaker Craig J. Coughlin on Tuesday announced the chairs and Democratic composition of each Assembly standing reference committee for the 218th legislative session, which begins today.

"We are fortunate to have such a dynamic group of individuals with diverse backgrounds in our caucus," said Coughlin (D-Middlesex). "This has enabled us to put together an outstanding team that will help guide our policy agenda for the next two years. I have every confidence that each chair and their respective members will work tirelessly to shepherd through a progressive agenda that prioritizes the needs of New Jersey's working families while pursuing innovative ways to protect and maximize taxpayer dollars."

The Democratic composition of each reference committee is as follows:

AGRICULTURE

Bob Andrzejczak, Chair Eric Houghtaling, Vice-Chair Adam Taliaferro

APPROPRIATIONS

John Burzichelli, Chair Gary Schaer, Vice-Chair Gabriela Mosquera Herb Conaway Cleopatra Tucker John McKeon Wayne DeAngelo

BUDGET

Eliana Pintor Marin, Chair John Burzichelli, Vice-Chair Carol Murphy
Daniel Benson
Patricia Egan Jones
Raj Mukherji
Benjie Wimberly
Gordon Johnson

COMMERCE

Gordon Johnson, Chair Robert Karabinchak, Vice-Chair John Armato Roy Freiman James Kennedy Eliana Pintor Marin Nicholas Chiaravalloti

CONSUMER AFFAIRS

Paul Moriarty, Chair Raj Mukherji, Vice-Chair Annette Chaparro

EDUCATION

Pamela Lampitt, Chair Mila Jasey, Vice-Chair Andrew Zwicker Ralph Caputo Gary Schaer Joe Danielsen

ENVIRONMENT & SOLID WASTE

Nancy Pinkin, Chair Reed Gusciora, Vice-Chair John McKeon Joseph Lagana

FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS & INSURANCE

John McKeon, Chair Pamela Lampitt, Vice-Chair Carol Murphy Joann Downey Roy Freiman Joe Danielsen Annette Quijano Gary Schaer

Yvonne Lopez

HEALTH

Herb Conaway, Jr., MD, Chair Tim Eustace, Vice-Chair John Armato Daniel Benson Nancy Pinkin Jerry Green Shanique Speight Reed Gusciora Angelica Jimenez

HIGHER EDUCATION

Mila Jasey, Chair Robert Karabinchak, Vice-Chair Joseph Egan Angela McKnight Thomas Giblin Gabriela Mosquera

HOMELAND SECURITY & STATE PREPAREDNESS

Valerie Vainieri Huttle, Chair Jamel Holley, Vice-Chair Bruce Land Angelica Jimenez

HOUSING

Jerry Green, Chair Annette Chaparro, Vice-Chair Shanique Speight

HUMAN SERVICES

Joann Downey, Chair Nicholas Chiaravalloti, Vice-Chair Yvonne Lopez Cleopatra Tucker

JUDICIARY

Annette Quijano, Chair Joseph Lagana, Vice-Chair Arthur Barclay Carol Murphy Gordon Johnson

LABOR

Joseph Egan, Chair Valerie Vainieri Huttle, Vice-Chair Paul Moriarty Eric Houghtaling Shavonda Sumter Reed Gusciora

LAW & PUBLIC SAFETY

Adam Taliaferro, Chair Arthur Barclay, Vice-Chair Vince Mazzeo Shavonda Sumter Tim Eustace Nancy Pinkin

MILITARY & VETERANS AFFAIRS

Cleopatra Tucker, Chair Wayne Deangelo, Vice-Chair John Armato Bob Andrzejczak

REGULATED PROFESSIONS

Thomas Giblin, Chair
Angelica Jimenez, Vice-Chair
Paul Moriarty
Andrew Zwicker
Vincent Prieto
Bruce Land

REGULATORY OVERSIGHT

Joe Danielsen, Chair Eric Houghtaling, Vice-Chair Yvonne Lopez Annette Quijano

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY *(new committee)

Andrew Zwicker, Chair James Kennedy, Vice-Chair Herb Conaway Tim Eustace

STATE & LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Vince Mazzeo, Chair Shavonda Sumter, Vice-Chair Mila Jasey

TELECOMMUNICATIONS & UTILITIES

Wayne Deangelo, Chair Benjie Wimberly, Vice-Chair Eric Houghtaling Joseph Lagana Patricia Egan Jones

TOURISM & GAMING

Ralph Caputo, Chair Bruce Land, Vice-Chair Vince Mazzeo Valerie Vainieri Huttle Jamel Holley

TRANSPORTATION

Daniel Benson, Chair
Patricia Egan Jones, Vice-Chair
Roy Freiman
Yvonne Lopez
James Kennedy
Vincent Prieto
Thomas Giblin
Robert Karabinchak
Benjie Wimberly

WOMEN & CHILDREN

Gabriela Mosquera, Chair Angela McKnight, Vice-Chair Shanique Speight Annette Chaparro

Find the Assembly Democrats:



Deputy Director of Communications NJ Assembly Democratic Majority Office

(P) 609-847-3500

(E) <u>isciortino@njleq.orq</u>

Find the Assembly Democrats:

